Section for Mineralogy, Petrology & Geochemistry
print

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Content

Portrait

The Section for Mineralogy, Petrology and Geochemistry of the Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich covers a broad spectrum of geoscientific research performed in the four fields of expertise as stated in the following sections:

Planet Earth – Evolution in Space and Time

EarthThe chemical differentiation of planets in time and space are quantified through the study of Earth and Planetary materials. The primary tools are high pressure- high temperature experiments, and isotopic age dating.

Geomaterials – The Nature of Rock

Inferences about the pressure-temperature-time history of metamorphic rocks are derived from physicochemical characterization of rocks in terms of their age, mineralogy, chemistry, texture, structure and geological environment. The tools are field-based mapping campaigns and microscopic microanalytical investigation.

Melting the Earth  - Magma Dynamics

VolcanoThe physico-chemical investigation of the gene ration, transport and eruption of magma (molten rock). The primary approaches are experimental including magma rheology, fragmentation, and thermal analysis.

Experimental Volcanology –  Processes and Hazards

The eruption of magma from the depth to the surface of Earth is the subject of volcanology. Under well-defined laboratory conditions we recreate eruptive conditions for historic eruptions. The ash clouds generated are captured in tanks and analyzed in detail.

Dynamic Earth - tracing geological processes with geochemical tools

We use the chemical and isotopic composition of rocks, minerals, and fossils to decipher the geological history of our planet. Geochemistry is by nature an interdisciplinary science and provides clues to almost the entire spectrum of geoscientific challenges in fields such as plate tectonics, global geochemical cycles, and environmental change.

We highly encourage and seek students from all over the world to contact us and participate in this exciting endeavor. Funding opportunities by the  THESIS program (a highly selective PhD graduate program for German and international students) funded by the Bavarian government, the activities of the Section for Mineralogy, Petrology and Geochemistry and the exciting location of Munich, ensure an exceptional research environment for pursuing advanced degrees.


Service

Sektion für Mineralogie, Petrologie & Geochemie
print

Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Portrait

Die Sektion Mineralogie, Petrologie und Geochemie der Ludwig Maximilians Universität München deckt ein breites Spektrum geowissenschaftlicher Forschung ab.

Planet Erde – Entwickung in Raum und Zeit

EarthDie Untersuchung der chemischen Differentiation von Planeten in geologischen Zeiträumen erfolgt anhand der Analyse von Gesteinen der Erde und anderen Planeten. Hierbei finden hauptsächlich Hochdruck- und Hochtemperaturexperimente, radiogene Altersbestimmung und Geländeaufnahmen Anwendung.

Geomaterialien - Das Wesen der Gesteine

Unsere Aufgabe ist die physiko-chemische Charakterisierung der Gesteine nach Alter, Mineralbestandteilen, Chemie, Textur, Struktur und geologischem Umfeld. Hierzu nutzen wir die Methoden der Kartierung, Probennahme und mikroskopischer, mikroanalytischer Untersuchung. Schließendlich decken wir die Druck-Temperatur-Zeit-Geschichte von metamorphen und magmatischen Gesteinen auf.

Aufschmelzen der Erde  - Dynamik des Magmas

VolcanoDie physiko-chemische Untersuchung der Entstehung, des Transports und der Förderung von Magma ist ein wichtiges Forschungsgebiet. Experimentelle Untersuchungen der Rheologie, Fragmentation und der Thermodynamik (thermische Analyse) von Magmen bilden hierbei die Forschungsschwerpunkte.

Experimentelle Vulkanologie –  Vulkanische Prozesse und deren Gefahren

Die Förderung von Magma aus dem Erdinnern an die Oberfläche ist das Forschungsfeld der Vulkanologie. Mittels einzigartiger Geräte können die Eruptionsbedingungen historischer Vulkanausbrüche bestimmt werden. Experimentell erzeugte Eruptionswolken werden in Tanks aufgefangen und anschließend charakterisiert.

Dynamische Erde - auf der Spur geologischer Prozesse mit Hilfe der Geochemie

Wir machen uns unser Wissen über die chemische und isotopische Zusammensetzung von Gesteinen, Mineralen und Fossilien zu Nutze, um die geologische Geschichte unseres Planeten aufzudecken. Geochemie ist eine interdisziplinäre Wissenschaft und gibt Aufschluss in nahezu sämtlichen geowissenschaftlichen Feldern wie beispielsweise Plattentektonik, Globale Geochemische Kreisläufe und Veränderungen unseres Klimas und der Umwelt.

Wir ermutigen und suchen dringend Studenten aus aller Welt uns zu kontaktieren, um einzutauchen in diese spannenden Forschungsthemen. Förderungsmöglichkeiten durch unser THESIS Programm (Bayrisches Elite-Netzwerk), die vielen Aktivitäten der Sektion Mineralogie, Petrologie und Geochemie und die wunderschöne und aufregende Stadt München sichern ein außergewöhnliches Forschungsumfeld um seinen Hochschulsabschluss zu erlangen.


Servicebereich

Projekte